Goals of this Blog

There are a couple of things I want to do here on my little slice of the internets.  First of all, I want to give back.  Give back? Yes, because I learned about 90% of what I know because other people put it up on the Internet.  How did I learn the programming languages VBA and Python?  Internet.  How did my friends and I learn to make our first fire balloon in 9th grade?  Internet.  How did we then figure out a way to send a camera 17 miles high (oh, yes, we did it too!).  Internet.

How did I survive a year as a database programmer and IT technician?  Well, the internet never went down.

So I want to broadcast some of the stuff I’ve learned, from homebrewing to mid-atmosphere physics, from inventing languages to programming tricks, out there for others to find and build upon as I have.

Second, I want to finally open up my language the the world.  Yes, you read right. I made a language.  I began work on it when I was 12, so I have been writing in it for over half my life.  Not that I expect legions of people to take it up, but I think it has some pretty neat aspects that people might be interested in.  Plus, the hobby of constructed languages is a lot of fun and I figure the more exposure the better.

Third, I want to keep up with the weekly writing challenge Friday Fictioneers.  I like to write, I’ve got a novel drafted with my coauthor Sarah Page Berling, and I want to keep moving forward in the craft.

That is all.  Except I can’t resist posting a picture from 17 miles up, in case someone doesn’t believe me.  Keep an eye on the BovineAerospace category for more details on this adventure (as well as many related ones) in the future.

Looking south at Truth or Consequences, NM, December 24, 2011

 

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goals of this Blog

  1. tedstrutz says:

    I like your attitude… I’ll be looking for you come Friday!

Leave a Reply

