A Time for Everything #Friday Fictioneers

Yes! It’s that time again, the 100 word flash fiction challenge served up weekly by Madison Woods.  She offers us a photo on her blog, and we, her loyal followers, write a 100 word story based on it.

I am a day late, but better late than never.  The photo is below, the story follows the photo.

As always, I welcome constructive criticism-it gives me a chance to grow as a writer.

UPDATE:  I edited the ending because commenters were a little confused about what was going on.  Hope this helps!

A Time for Everything

“There’s a time for everything,” the old man thought as he walked slowly down the stairs into the basement, clutching a bundle of mail.  He stepped carefully past the shelves packed with paint thinner, jugs of kerosene, and yellow quarts of motor oil.  He paused by a pile of paper lying on the stained concrete.
He tossed the envelopes down one by one until he got to the final letter.  It was from Bank of America and was dated May 4th, 2012.
“All is vanity,” he said to himself, and reached inside his front pocket for a match.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Time for Everything #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Brian Benoit says:

    A mysterious piece, with a good pensive tone to it. I’m wondering if “All is vanity” is an allusion to Charles Gilbert? In which case I’d say something dark is going on. Full of possibilities for interpretation though (unless I’m misreading). Nice piece!

    Brian (Mines here: http://pinionpost.com/2012/05/04/renovations/)

  2. KCBB says:

    I liked this piece a lot. Kind of mysterious. Why did this guy keep motor oil in bottles? It comes in plastic jugs.

  3. writelindy says:

    I love this piece. Your descriptions are wonderful and I was right there watching the old man going through his papers. It had the right touch of mystery for my liking and also a little bit of darkness.

  4. This is very intriguing; with lots of possibilities. He sees so much futility and hopelessness in the new of the letter, which is clearly ominous. You may have to develop this further since the suspense is kiling. A very good post. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/05/04/fridayfictioneers-lost-without-you/

Leave a Reply

