Persistence #Friday Fictioneers

Yes!  Another week, another Friday Fictioneers.  Every Wednesday, Madison Woods posts a photo on her blog.  Every Friday, she presents a 100 word story based on the picture, and people from all over the Internet post comments with links to their own stories based on  the same picture.

I always appreciate constructive criticism-if you are confused by something or things just don’t make sense, please let me know!

Here is the photo:

Here is my story:

 

Persistence

    We stood on the porch and watched the moon drift among the clouds.
     “I keep having that same dream over and over, you know?”, he said at last. “I keep seeing how thin he was. Like how he hadn’t eaten for days.”
     “Anything else happen?”
     “He comes and takes my hand, and we go into the dark together.”
     “You’re 27, man. He lived to be like 67. You got a long time before then.”
     “Yeah, I know.” He sighed. “Thanks for walking me home.”
     “No problem.”
    I stepped off the porch, zipped up my jacket, and headed home.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Persistence #Friday Fictioneers

  1. ruth weeks says:

    Hmm . . . very interesting. Not sure exactly what is going on but the first thought was he was thinking of his father and death???? Am I close?

  2. The dream I caught – I’ve known people who had such dreams before they died. But am I crazy getting another, still unrewarded form of persistence from our dreamer?

    Kathy
    http://notforallmarkets.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/stay/

  3. TheOthers1 says:

    I almost got the impression he was scared and that’s why the narrator walked him home. The being walked home part may be a minor point, but it was almost like the dream unsettled him and he was worried about being taken. Interesting indeed.

    My attempt: http://unduecreativity.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/she-called-to-him/

  4. Sounds like a time travel dream – where 67-year-old “he” and 27-year-old “he” are the same person? Anyhow, effectively unnerving.

    My story: http://newpillowbook.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/friday-fictioneers-lunacy/

  5. Lora Mitchell says:

    He keeps dreaming of his departed father and fears he will join him soon. Is it a premonition or a death wish? I hope neither. If I were his friend, I would tell him to snap out of it and get on with his life. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  6. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Danny,

    A brother walks a younger brother home, helping to fill the gap left by a loving parent gone from them forever. Nicely wrought. Simple and pleasing to the ear, like a Shaker chest of drawers for good memories.

    Thanks for reading mine and leaving your comments.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  7. Sandra says:

    I enjoyed this, the voices were excellent. Not sure why it was called persistence, though.
    Mine’s at: http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/you-called-friday-fictioneers-may-2012/

  8. mysocalledDutchlife says:

    So many different ideas on what is happening here. Something paranormal or just a bit paranoid? Recovering from a breakdown or an accident, a head trauma? I liked it very much.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my first attempt 🙂

    http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/05/12/following-footsteps/

  9. oldentimes says:

    how well you depicted the empty feeling of losing someone close to you! Thank you for the comment on my post.

  10. I enjoyed this, a touch of mystery and superstition. His fear maybe unfounded, though. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/05/11/fridayfictioneers-tanoas-baby/

  11. Brian Benoit says:

    Pretty intriguing setup. His father died of cancer maybe, and he’s worried he’ll meet an early end? So worried he has his friend walk him home? No matter what the correct “reading,” it’s fair to say the setup makes me want to read more. Nice job!

    Brian (Thanks for commenting on mine. Here’s the link again, just in case someone else stumbles upon it and decides to give it a read: http://pinionpost.com/2012/05/11/the-runaway/)

Leave a Reply

