Unleashed (Friday Fictioneers)

Yes! I am back after a couple of weeks. Life’s ramping up with a big move and a whole bunch of other things, so Friday Fictioneers might be hit or miss for a while. Today, I hope it’s a hit!

What is Friday Fictioneers, you ask? Every Wednesday, Madison Woods posts a picture on her blog. On Friday, she posts a 100 word flash fiction piece based on the picture-and invites everyone else to post a link to their own stories as comments. There’s quite a few people participating these days.  I’m one of them!

I get a kick out of Friday Fictioneers and I also appreciate constructive criticism. If something about my story is confusing or could be worded better, please let me know!

Here’s this week’s prompt, story is below the picture:

Unleashed

“I still get a cold sweat every time I see one of those things,” I said.
Jay looked over at me and grinned.  “What?  A blimp?”
“Yeah.”
He laughed and shaded his eyes with his hand. “So you still think about it sometimes?”
“What?”
“You know.  What we pulled back in junior year.”
“Yeah, sometimes” I said.  “I just thought it had remote controls or something.  Never dreamed it would, you know, drift off.”
Jay chuckled.  “We shoulda thought of that before we cut the cable.”
“Yeah.”
“Where’d it end up again?”
“New Jersey, I think.”

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Unleashed (Friday Fictioneers)

  1. VSichalwe says:

    That sounded really adventurious I actually want to know what happened 🙂

  2. Ooh, rotten kids! They just don’t think ahead. I like the pacing in this one – you dole out information at just the right speed to keep us eager to understand why blimps give the narrator a cold sweat.

    Thank you for commenting on mine – http://newpillowbook.wordpress.com/2012/06/08/friday-fictioneers-the-view-from-2112/.

  3. Nifti says:

    Haha. Nice one. Glad I decided to go check out the last comments on Madison’s page 🙂

  4. rich says:

    oh no you di’in’t!

  5. Randy Mazie says:

    funny… Jersey, huh?

  6. Yaral says:

    I like that kids can get into all sorts of trouble and you did tell this well.
    Here is mine http://yaralwrites.com/

  7. Lora Mitchell says:

    Poor Jersey? It’s gets all the blame. Hint of HIndenburg, perhaps? Nice, easy dialogue. Here’s mine:
    http://www.triplemoonstar.blogspot.com

  8. Kwadwo says:

    Hmmmm… New Jersey of all places. I’m sure it got quite a few stares.

    Mine’s here: http://logo-ligi.com/2012/06/08/radiant-flight/

  9. Linda says:

    The games that students play – usually without any thought of responsibility at the time – It made me smile 🙂

  10. Atiya says:

    Oh that’s rich. Gotta love a little bit of mischief. Thank you for commenting on mine. This was a fun share. Good luck on the big changes, I hope everything goes smoothly.

    Mine for others to follow: http://remakingme-atiyatownes.blogspot.com/2012/06/friday-fictioneer-jump.html

  11. bittercharm says:

    Oh Common! You got us all wrapped up here… I want to know the rest of the story!

Leave a Reply

