Five messages in bottles have been found, four more to go!

A few weeks ago I posted how my wife’s bottle washed up after a stormy day and high tides on Humarock Beach in Scituate, Massachusetts.  I’m excited to announce that four more bottles have been found, so right now I am looking at a recovery rate of over 50 percent.  I am not as excited about the fact that they were all found in Massachusetts, but beggars can’t be choosers.  At least my solar balloon landed in the ocean, and at least the payload deployed correctly and released each bottle on its own.

Here’s the spread:

Christine Park’s bottle found on Humarock Beach, Scituate, MA.

David Delmarco’s bottle found on the Cape Cod National Seashore (seaward side) in Truro, MA.

One of Josh Simpson’s bottles found in Marshfield, MA.

My bottle found by a 6 year old girl at Devereux Beach, Marblehead, MA.

James Roehrig’s bottle found in Nantucket.

I have been trying to understand how the bottles ended up where they are.  I think they are pushed around more by surface winds than by currents, since they would float right on top of the water.  Plus it seems like a few get found every time we have a good wind from the East.  However, I don’t know why they are all up and down the coast.  If they’d all been in Massachusetts Bay then I would assume that the balloon fell into the bay.  But the Marblehead, Truro, and Nantucket recoveries argue against this.

Who knows!

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

