The Silence #Friday Fictioneers

Yes!  I am back after far too long (over a month) but now that the turmoil of moving is over and I’m a proud new resident of the South, I can start defacing the internet with my flash fiction once again.

How this works:  Every Wednesday Madison Woods posts a photo on her blog, and every Friday she invites anyone on the blogosphere to post a 100 word flash fiction piece based on the photo.

I welcome commentary and criticism on my writing; without them I do not have the opportunity to improve.

Here’s the photo, the story is below it.

The Silence

I take the gloves off like you said: nothing on the glove touches your hand, you don’t touch nothing, yeah, yeah.  I glance up at the trees and there’s a buzzard there already glaring back at me.  I mean, wasn’t there five minutes ago but sure there now.  I look down back at you taking your ease on the plastic and you don’t say nothing.  About time cuz your loud ass mouth got us here so I grab the shovel and start on the goddamned hole.  Gotta make it big cuz you sure ain’t small.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Silence #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Thanks for reading my submission and the feed back. Funny you mention the fist two lines. Those are the ones that I kept reinventing. I love your story. Original I get the guy is digging his on grave but these words kind of confused me taking your ease on the plastic. I’m going to follow you and look forward to reading more of your work.
    ~Kim

  2. Quill Shiv says:

    I really enjoyed this. I even had a mirthful laugh at the end. The language was perfect for your character and that is difficult for a lot of authors to handle. Great job!

  3. Russell says:

    I liked it, Danny. Sounds like the victim spelled it out for the perpetrator. Thanks for visiting & commenting on mine. Here’s the link for others.

    http://russellgayer.blogspot.com/

  4. Beth Carter says:

    Excellent dialogue! Well done with the details and allowing us to depict this unsettling scene.

    Thanks for stopping by mine. Loved your comments. For others it’s here: http://banterwithbeth.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

