Stepping Out #Friday Fictioneers

Another week and another Friday Fictioneers!  My wife suggested the topic for me this week and it was fun to try something a little different.

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly flash fiction challenge posted by Madison Woods on her blog.  Every Wednesday, writers from all over the blogosphere write a 100 word flash fiction piece based on a photo Madison selects.  They post a link on the Comments section of Madison’s post every Friday, and people read and comment on each other’s work.   It’s a great way to practice writing, get feedback from other writers and also read some really neat stories.

I encourage constructive criticism, so let me know what you like and don’t like about my story.  Photo prompt is below; story follows.

Stepping Out

My world used to be pretty small.
A cage a few paces long
filled with the sound of pitbulls
from across the aisle.

But things are different now I got
the litter cakes off my feet
and there’s a little door with a flap
that leads to a place where there is no roof
and I’m a whole lot bigger now.

So here’s my plan
I’m gonna sit under this leafy thing
for a minute or two and then you know what
I just might step on out.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Stepping Out #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Adam Ickes says:

    I take it this is about a puppy adopted from a shelter into a better life? If it is, I thoroughly enjoyed it, as I have two pups of my own. If it isn’t, I totally misinterrepted it.

  2. rochellewisoff says:

    I thought it was a puppy, too. Hope he goes to a good home. 😉
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot.com/2012/07/bittersweet.html

  3. Christine says:

    it’s about one of our cats who was adopted from a shelter 🙂 “the litter cakes off my feet” from the litter box

  4. Sandra says:

    I thought it was about cats. It talks like a cat for heaven’s sake! Not to mention the litter. Noooo, I said don’t mention the litter. I thought this was a really original take on the prompt, perfect voice, great delivery.
    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/triple-exposure-friday-fictioneers-july-2012/

  5. Made me happy to read that the cat was looking at a better life. Having had several foster pit bulls, I hope they get out to a good home, too, so they can share all the love they have inside. 🙂

  6. Brian Benoit says:

    Nice view from the dog’s perspective. I especially like the way he conceives of outside as a place where there is no roof. “So here’s my plan” also feels like the perfect launching point for his adventure. Well done.

    Here’s mine: http://pinionpost.com/2012/07/20/terroir/

  7. Nice twist. I like how the escapee is already outside, but thinks he is still inside, just in a bigger room with no roof, and he’s working up the courage to step “outside.” At least that was my first impression. Great work!

    http://ebooksscifi.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/pre-fall-by-ilyan-kei-lavanway-for-madison-woods-friday-fictioneers-100-word-flash-fiction/

  8. Some think this is about a dog but it reminds me of my Bambi…a frightened stray locked in a cage waiting for me to come along to release her.,.and give her a good home. She’s been with me 7 years now and is a happy camper. I’m on the list.

    • glossarch says:

      It’s definitely about a cat, but I did not leave any clues in my story except “litter cakes.” I’m actually glad that people picked cats or dogs depending on personal preference since it made the story have wider appeal!

      My wife and I sat down on Thursday and I asked her what I should write about. She said I should write a story about our cat Nabi, whom we adopted from the Albuquerque City Shelter. Nabi’s a bit on the crazy side, and he’s also huge (pushin 12 or 13 lbs). He loves being outside and is very bold.

  9. mysocalledDutchlife says:

    The grand plans of our pets! I love that the world is open to her (my cat is female) now. Really enjoyed your tale.

    http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/through-the-grapevine-ff-200712/

  10. Kris Kennedy says:

    I read it as a cat… Very original…cool take on the photo.

  11. Kris Kennedy says:

    I thought it was a cat – I loved the originality of your take on the photo – very creative…your mind works in imaginary ways…very cool

  12. I read it as a cat, too. We have two, adopted from the animal rescue. I love that someone managed to use the prompt to include a kitty. Nice piece, well done.

    Thanks for your comment on ours. (I can’t see another Danny in the Link List, so I hope it was you lol.)

  13. rgayer55 says:

    There seems to be a great debate about what species of animal is telling this story. But there could be a deeper underlying theme pertaining to humans, and more particularly emerging writers. The world looks big and intimidating from inside our little cages, but once we step out the fun begins.

Leave a Reply

