Not Gonna Move #Friday Fictioneers

Yes!  The weeks roll on and I get older but less wise.  And it is that time again-time for Friday Fictioneers.  Every Wednesday Madison Woods posts a picture on her blog.  Every Friday, writers from around the globe post a 100 word story they wrote based on the picture.  It’s a great way to read good stories, and if you’re a writer, it’s also a good way to get your work read.

As always, I welcome constructive criticism.

My story is below the picture:

Not Gonna Move

“Mom heard them coming,” my sister told me years later.
“The bulldozers had already begun,” she added.  “They were about to rip out the mulberry tree in front of the mailbox so that’s when Mom did it.  She took the chain, looped it twice around her waist and locked herself to the trunk.  Gave me the key and told me to throw it in the river.”
“But you didn’t, right?” I asked.
“Nope.  A few hours later it was 95 degrees. They wouldn’t give her water. So I caved.”
My sister looked away and lit a cigarette.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not Gonna Move #Friday Fictioneers

  1. reminds of a movement a few years ago by some tribals who didn’t want their forest shopped down.
    Nice story!

  2. Sandra says:

    An original take on the prompt. Nicely done.

  3. That last line is perfect.

  4. elmowrites says:

    Ooh, so much story here, I want to know more about all the characters. Nicely done and I hope you continue the story for us sometime!
    I’m over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/friday-fiction-torment/

  5. Totally different direction than most of us, well done! I feel I would like the woman with the chain wrapped around her.

  6. rochellewisoff says:

    Thank you for your unique take on the prompt. A sad story. Sound like the sister carries a lot of emotional baggage away from the situation. Well done in a few words.
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot.com/2012/08/wild-life.html

  7. rgayer55 says:

    Good piece of family history there. I too enjoyed the last line. It said a lot.
    Thanks for visiting & commenting on mine.
    http://russellgayer.blogspot.com/

  8. Ha! Nice twist. Took me two reads but I got it. Very funny.

Leave a Reply

