The Reach #Friday Fictioneers

Another week rolls by, and I abruptly make the transition from calculus to Friday Fictioneers.  Yes, I am a student again, with homework.  Alas!  If it didn’t pertain to volcanoes, I would be wondering what I’m doing in graduate school.  Luckily, it is relevant…but I digress.

Friday Fictioneers is a weekly writing exercise hosted by Madison Woods on her blog.  Writers from around the globe post links to 100 word flash fiction inspired by a photo prompt Madison posts every Wednesday.  For writers, it’s a great way to get readers.  For readers, it’s a source of some really interesting stories.

As always, I welcome constructive criticism.  Without it, I cannot develop as a writer.  This week’s photo is below; story follows the photo.

The Reach

He woke up that morning with grinding joints and wobbly knees, stood at the mirror and worked the shaving cream to a lather, drew the razor across his saltpepper stubble, splashed his face, dried it.  He walked down the hall past the three empty bedrooms and opened the front door.  He carefully took the stairs and stepped out onto the driveway, gravel cutting into his bare feet.  He glanced at the old pickup and thought of driving, just driving, but instead he turned back towards the house with the wind brushing his face like a kiss blown backward in time.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Reach #Friday Fictioneers

  1. The rhythm is fantastic. And you manage to say a lot without saying much. Nicely done, sir.

  2. Great depth in so few words. I think he should pack a few belongings. Put on his shoes and drive. What’s holding him back?
    http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/escape/

  3. unspywriter says:

    I thought the image of going past the empty rooms was very evocative, and I could feel that breeze. Nicely done.

    Here’s mine: http://unexpectedpaths.com/friday-fictioneers/pillar-of-salt/

  4. Love to know where he’s going and where he’s been. Love your last sentence!! Reminds me a bit of Clint Eastwood in “Gran Torino.”

  5. billgncs says:

    vivid, something has to happen next

  6. susielindau says:

    The empty nest and the yearning for adventure! Let him get the keys!
    Here is mine! Come back and leave your link~
    http://susielindau.com/2012/08/24/a-twisted-tale-flash-fiction/

  7. Nice rhythm. Here’s a link to mine if interested. http://wp.me/p28tjX-tS

  8. He shaves and gets ready but turns back. I wonder why? Hey, take a risk, get in that pickup and take off. There may be a surprise out there. Perhaps your true love waiting for you just around the corner. Love the line…”a kiss blown backward in time.” NIce work. I’m #36 on the list.

  9. Feels like he’s yearning to live again, but can’t cope with the idea of doing it. Getting up and ready is a good step forward. Beautiful on the minute details and tells of a bigger story.

    http://mysocalleddutchlife.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/the-haar-ff-240812/

  10. Goodness I felt like he was the last man on Earth. What a great story, it had a little bit of a rhythm to it as well.

Leave a Reply

