Palmsong #Friday Fictioneers

It’s that time of the week again:  Friday Fictioneers!  Every week, writers from all over the globe write a 100 word flash fiction story based on a new photo posted every Wednesday on Madison Woods’ blog.  On Friday, we all post links to our stories and make sure to comment on each other’s work.  For writers, it’s a great way to get feedback on your stories.  For readers, it’s a great way to read some really cool stories.

Here’s this week’s picture, my story is below.

Palmsong

The girl glanced at me.
“Well?” she asked.
I took her left hand in mine and held it up to the light.  First, everything was quiet.  But as my eyes listened, I found I could pick apart the melodies.  I started humming to myself as the sound grew louder.
“Well?” she asked again.
“I see prosperity, health, a good husband I think”, I answered slowly.
She smiled, dropped a few coins on the counter, and left.
I glanced down at my clasped hands despite myself.  My eyes listened before I could stop them, but I heard only a faint whisper.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Palmsong #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Interesting. Especially the idea about eyes listening.

  2. billgncs says:

    he sees his own death? It was very descriptive, enjoyed that, I was waiting for him to get her phone number when you said husband. Nicely done

  3. Can’t help but wonder what his eyes are hearing. Intriguing piece.
    I’m #23 on the list.

  4. What a fascinating idea, that the palm reader could read her/his own palm. I never really thought about that before. But did it mean death or something else? Interesting idea done well.

  5. bittercharm says:

    I loved the idea of listening to the fate, through lines and eyes… very unique, well delivered!
    I am here…

    http://reeflections.wordpress.com/2012/09/11/stoned/

Leave a Reply

