Without Direction #Friday Fictioneers

Egad!  It’s Friday Fictioneers again!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Madison Wood’s blog.

I also have some exciting news this week: my poem Bruce King’s Chickens was published as part of the New Mexico Centennial project.  You can see it here!

Shameless publicity plug aside, I proceed to my story.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The photo prompt is below, my story follows.  Thanks for reading!

Without Direction

“I knew this guy once.  ESL teacher, like me.  He drank a couple bottles of soju, jumped in the water at Kangneung, took off his swim trunks, and screamed ‘I’m naked in your fucking ocean’.”
She stared at me.  “Are you all like that?”
“Yep.  College kids who want to keep partying, people who wrecked their lives in America and looking to escape, and wanderers with nowhere else to go.”
She looked at me, puzzled, then asked with just a trace of an accent:
“Which one are you?”
I looked away.  “Me? A little of all three I guess.”

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Without Direction #Friday Fictioneers

  1. billgncs says:

    I liked it, left me wondering about who she was and the relationship.

  2. Congratulations on the publication of your poem! This is an interesting take. Any back story? I always wonder where people’s ideas originated or if they even know. Often I can’t think of anything interesting to begin with or I start with an idea quite different from the one I end up using.

    • glossarch says:

      Thank you for the kind words! The poem is semi-autobiographical. I used to show chickens at the New Mexico State Fair, and one year Bruce King did buy them. The year was 2001 instead of 2003, and I don’t recall if the rodeo queen had blonde hair or not. I’ll have to dig up the championship photo to see. But the part about the message is true, and I built the whole poem around that single sentence.

  3. Congratulations on the poem!

    As for the story – interesting sketch of the exploratory stage of a relationship. I wonder where they’ll go from this point?

  4. rich says:

    doesn’t give a good image of americans. but that’s the way it goes these days.

  5. If she’s smart she’ll avoid him. Strikes me as a jerk besides being without direction. Hope he grows up before it’s too late.

  6. This loser is the new generation of the “Ugly American”

  7. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Danny,

    He’s going to be singing Sugar Mountain all the rest of his life.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

