The Evening Star #Friday Fictioneers

Lok’vid!  It’s Friday Fictioneers again!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Madison Wood’s blog.

Here’s the photo, story is below.  Constructive criticism is always appreciated!

The Evening Star

I took the spare key from beneath the geranium pot, let myself in, and sat at your kitchen table.  The place needed to be dusted a little but other than that you could have just stepped out for a while.  Instead you were taken up.  You, and every single person on earth with an iota of faith.  As for me I seem to have lost my mustard seed-anyway I figure it’s better to rule in one place than serve in another as they say.  But outside the night is falling, my love, and so is the evening star.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Evening Star #Friday Fictioneers

  1. rich says:

    i like the character’s choice. let’s hope it works out for him. it won’t be boring, that’s for sure.

  2. Hi Danny,
    If I’m reading the references right, especially the mustard seed, she has been raptured. But wouldn’t there be a lot of sinners still left on earth? Or am I off? Ron

    • glossarch says:

      I think this Rapture was a lot more inclusive than most. If you believed at all, you got taken up. Like Dante’s sinners in the Inferno, you had to actively will yourself *not* to be Raptured in order to be left behind.

  3. Jan Brown says:

    So he’s planning to rule earth after the Rapture? Gives a whole new meaning to the concept of the power grab. Interesting story!

  4. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Danny,

    Loved the story, it’s tone and the way you pulled everything together for us. Especially liked the last line for the way it flows and the future it portends.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  5. Sandra says:

    Nicely done. I liked that line ‘better to rule in one place than serve in another’. Just the right note of defiance there. Good work.

    • glossarch says:

      Thank you. That line’s actually inspired by Paradise Lost:

      Here at least
      we shall be free; the Almighty hath not built
      Here for his envy, will not drive us hence:
      Here we may reign secure, and in my choice
      to reign is worth ambition though in Hell:
      Better to reign in Hell, than serve in Heaven.

  6. What a pretty piece. I like the quiet feel it has. Well done!

  7. A verya unique take on the prompt, Danny. Very well written. Mine is here: http://readinpleasure.wordpress.com/2012/10/05/fridayfictioneers-the-empty-heart/

  8. kdmccrite2 says:

    Thought-provoking and well-written. A nifty little twist on the old story.

  9. Ha. Loved it. I’m a fan of Milton myself. Very well done, my friend. You know where to find mine.

  10. I liked this and think it too would make a great start to a movie. But then I love all things apocalytpic 🙂

  11. A thought provoker for sure. Unique and enjoyable (?) take on the prompt.

  12. Ahhhh….The Rapture. Wish it would happen in my lifetime…for I’m ready. Got to believe, people. You don’t want to be “Left Behind” to live through Tribulation.

  13. Brian Benoit says:

    You’ve written a believably peaceful post-Rapture world — good stuff! I’d be interested to know what happens next, but at the same time I think this works so well particularly because there’s a whole stretch of eternity to go on after that we only get to imagine, so it really feels like he’s been left behind. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

