And Yet it Moves #Friday Fictioneers

The earth has spun another 14π radians, and that means it’s Friday Fictioneers again!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  Thanks for reading!

And Yet it Moves

The little girl glances at the banner, left hand clutching a barbacued turkey leg.  “T-O-Y-S T-H-A-T F-L-Y” she sounds out in her head.  She looks at me.  I stare back.  The turkey leg gets lighter, lighter; it rises into the air and drifts slowly between us.  She reaches and the leg drifts down, down, her fingers close around the aluminum foil.  Now outside the tent, she takes her mom’s hand and glances back at me. I’m still sitting here in my metal folding chair; I ain’t going anywhere.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to And Yet it Moves #Friday Fictioneers

  1. janet says:

    Whoa, keep that leg away from me!! We went to a medieval fair a few summers ago and they did have the most enormous turkey legs for sale although none of them rose in the air. Maybe it was just us. But we did see quite a few other wild and crazy things. Thanks for reminding me of that day, which we thought would be boring, but turned out to be a blast.

  2. different, cool, not fully sure how to interpret it but it like the surreal (the leg drifts down) mixed with the real (I ain’t going anywhere).

    Randy

  3. Sandra says:

    Excellent! truly excellent. I could visualise that perfectly captured scenario. Well done!

  4. This gives new meaning to “Pick up your toys.” Good job, Danny.

  5. Sheila says:

    Hahha – that’s a crazy flying toy! I could really picture how it hovered there. Nice job.

  6. brudberg says:

    What a wonderful way to be a caterer if you can send the leg flying.. Seriously a very nice surreal tone here. And I love the last sentence.

  7. Debra Kristi says:

    I want to pick up my house this way. What a fun interpretation of the photo. A flying turkey leg could become a serious weapon to be leery of. 😀 I’d probably stay in the folding chair too. Nice job.

  8. JackieP says:

    Good one. Hope the guy doesn’t float off like the turkey leg. This girl has power!

  9. Parul says:

    Wow! Very suave and cool! The man reminded me of Professor Xavior! Though this one seems nasty!

  10. billgncs says:

    good one, this could go in so many directions, but it is a complete lovely image. Really liked it.

  11. rich says:

    is it that she was pretending her turkey leg could fly? or did she make it fly? i’m guessing the second one, but both are cute in different ways. in the very last line, considering changing “anywhere” to “nowhere.” it’s not correct, but it’s how many people would speak, especially when something dramatic is happening. and sounds better with “ain’t”

  12. My interpretation is that the man wanted her turkey leg so he was going to just take it, but the little girl got it back in the nick of time. It was very easy to visualize even if I didn’t know exactly who was causing the floating.

    • glossarch says:

      I realized after writing and posting that I had not put any real clues as to who was the telekinetic. Originally I envisioned that the man was doing the flying, but it’s interesting to see various peoples’ interpretations of the scene!

  13. Lora says:

    Glad the mother got her away from that man in the chair. He sounds creepy. I never heard or saw flying turkey legs at flea markets or carnivals. Is it similar to a boomarang toy? NIce work, Danny.

  14. Interesting. Is she supposed to have telekenisis ( I probably spelled that wrong)?

  15. Sweet. I love how all this can go on without the mom’s notice (very Charlie Brown ‘blahblahblah’). I can’t think of a thing to improve and somehow imagine the grownup girl coming back and finding the same guy in the same chair pulling the same stunts with other kids.

  16. tedstrutz says:

    I wonder if she told her mom the leg flew. I liked her sounding the words out in her head, that let me see the little girl.

  17. vb holmes says:

    Pretty cool little girl, if you ask me….

  18. wmqcolby says:

    Turkey legs forever! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

