The Lights of Years Past #Friday Fictioneers

After a 2 week intermission (hanging out at an exploding volcano!) I’m back to Friday Fictioneers!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  Thanks for reading!

The Lights of Years Past

“You guys used to go out at night and sing?” she asked me.
“Yes, and look at the lights.  Every Christmas there were little electric lights strung from trees and houses. People kept them on all night long.”  I closed my eyes.  “I can still see them.”
She stirred the dying fire with a stick, and huddled deeper into her old down jacket.
“What happened to Christmas?”
“It passed on, just like everything else.”
I reached into my pocket and pulled out a piece of honeycomb wrapped in wax paper.
“Here you go, little one.  Time to go inside soon.”

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Lights of Years Past #Friday Fictioneers

  1. I hope we never get to that point, where Christmas is only a distant memory to be passed down to children. Welcome back. I hope you enjoyed your exploding volcano (which sounds exactly like a Friday Fictioneer pastime!)

  2. There are attempts to erase Christmas but Christians will fight to the very end. Merry Christmas, everyone !!

  3. rich says:

    ooooh no. post apocalyptic? well done. sad and well done.

  4. Dear Danny,

    For me the sentence that sealed the deal with this quiet, sad story was the one with the honeycomb in waxed paper. Tiny, excellent detail not often found in these short stories. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  5. Hi Danny,
    I’ll bet it was all destroyed by exploding volcanos! Nice apocalyptic tale! Ron

  6. yerpirate says:

    Very clever indeed!

  7. Sandra says:

    I agree about the honeycomb in waxed paper – that was a really nice touch.

  8. claireful says:

    A really nice tone to this story – nostalgia, memory. Just one thought – would the child know what electric lights were if she / he didn’t know what happened to Christmas?

    • glossarch says:

      That’s a good question, and one I didn’t consider. Stylistically I feel like asking too many questions would have broken up the story (maybe if I had 200 words I could do it!), or maybe they had batteries still lying around? I don’t know, I’m waving my arms here. I actually thought about the word “electric” for a while, then decided to keep it in since it emphasized the current lack of electricity.

  9. Russell says:

    You mean even Walmart is gone?? Oh no, where will I go for my trinkets and trash?
    Kudos on the honeycomb line, Danny. Good story.

  10. brudberg says:

    Lovely told, a whole distaster behind those lines. Very well done.

  11. Dear Danny,
    Welcome back. Your presence was missed. I too loved the honeycomb line. It shows how much he wanted to keep that special season alive. Well done.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  12. billgncs says:

    good things do pass away if we let them. Excellent story.

  13. I enjoyed the honeycomb, too. Very nice! I hope it doesn’t come to this.

  14. I liked the nostalgic feel of this story and didn’t catch on that the honeycomb wrapped in waxed paper was a ‘gift’ until after several comments mentioned it. I don’t think that’s a fault of your story, but with my own disconnect. Where were you watching volcanoes explode? Glad you made it back!

    • glossarch says:

      I didn’t realize the honeycomb was a Christmas gift either. I am not necessarily aware of things that go on in my stories till commenters point it out 🙂

      The volcano is in Guatemala, I’ll blog about it soon.

  15. Kinda sad to think Christmas is just a passing fad.

  16. Debra Kristi says:

    If the stores have their way this will never come to pass. I’d hate to see it happen. Loved the fine touch – wrapped in wax paper.

Leave a Reply

