Waiting #Friday Fictioneers

After a 2 week intermission (finals!) I’m back to Friday Fictioneers!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  Thanks for reading!

Also, I need your help with tracking and recovering a 4 story tall solar balloon-see the project website for details!

Waiting

I’ve been waiting for you to come home for hours.
Didn’t you notice my food bowl is empty?
My favorite toys somehow ended up under the couch
and all these new decorations
(some of which I took the liberty to swat from the table)
what are they doing here?
And how could you bring over this other creature,
nowhere near as elegant and pretty as me,
giving it attention better reserved for the lord of this household-me?
Who are you trying to impress?
That other creature, ugly like you, and with longer hair?

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Waiting #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Doesn’t sound as though this woman gets the cat seal of approval. Might be a short relationship. 🙂

    Have a blessed Christmas, both you and your wife.

  2. erinleary says:

    Sounds like someone’s jealous. I enjoyed your cat’s point of view – sounded like something mine would say.

  3. boomiebol says:

    Bossy jealous cat…nicely done. Thanks

  4. Ah, the green-eyed monster rears its ugly head. A true telling of a cat’s life i think.

  5. Welcome back, Danny. All cat owners know that this story has little to do with fiction. Hope you passed all your finals.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  6. Sandra says:

    You’ve got to impress the cat, or you’re sunk. Nice one.

  7. So demanding like most finicky cats.

  8. rich says:

    hey hey. wait a minute. i used to have longer hair. what are you trying to say?

    ah, just teasing. well done.

  9. kz says:

    that’s one jealous kitty ^^

  10. billgncs says:

    jealousy is an evil beast! good luck with your balloon

  11. Hi Danny,
    You’ve hit on something. Cats do have a jealous streak, just like some humans. Great attitude from the cat. Ron

  12. tedstrutz says:

    I liked the line ‘what are they doing here?’… showed how bossy the cat thought he was. And ‘ugly like you’… pretty funny 100 words.

  13. If this is a jealous cat…just wait until the baby arrives. Chaos!! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

