The Trial #Friday Fictioneers

Central North Carolina trembles at the prospect of four inches of snow tomorrow, but that won’t stop me from doing Friday Fictioneers!.  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  Thanks for reading!

The Trial

“You asked an old friend of mine a few questions once,” Rachel said to the empty chair across from her.  “You wanted to know where he was when you laid the foundations of the world.”
But it’s 2013, and now it’s our turn to be accusers,” she added, taking out a pen and a legal pad.  She glanced down at the table, at the crayons she’d held on to for twelve years.
“Where were you when that plane carried my baby into the Twin Towers?  Anything to say to that?”
She waited, pen hovering above the paper.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Trial #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Powerful accusation. I understand the anger and defiance, I fear the response.

    Job, where were you when I created all this – all over again.
    Uh-uh. Not for me. i accept…..
    Randy

  2. boomiebol says:

    Wow…this is a powerful take on the prompt…very well done

  3. sandraconner says:

    Very creative take on this challenge. And well-written.

  4. Yes, it’s powerful and I can understand the desire to make the accusation. However, I know the outcome. 🙂 You did this really well, BTW.

  5. Sandra says:

    A very strong piece.

  6. Dear Danny,
    You took my breath away.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  7. Abraham says:

    Though-provoking. Deep.

  8. Hayley says:

    Wow, intense! Great job.

  9. powerful emotion here.

  10. Okay, this took me to an unpleasant place, just what good writing should be capable of. I have little to say, but I will leave a wow! Raw emotion bubbling under the surface.

  11. JackieP says:

    Really well done.

  12. wmqcolby says:

    Wow! You went for the jugular on that one. I was thinking more concentration camp, but Twin Towers was fine. Home run!

  13. Hi Danny,
    Interesting and creative take on the photo. How are you doing with the snow? I’ve been reading a great NC writer recently named Ron Rash. He teaches at Western Carolina U. Do you know his work? Ron

  14. I like how you equate the two time periods as a time of terrorism and murder.

  15. tedstrutz says:

    Glad a little snow didn’t freeze your creative process… Sounds like Rachel is questioning her faith. I might too, under those circumstances.

  16. Good recreation of the theodicy paradox my friend. Job is not in everyone. Very well told.

    • glossarch says:

      Thank you. Theodicy is fascinating (I have yet to read a satisfying explanation of how believers overcome it). Job and Ecclesiastes are definitely among my favorite books. They are so unusual and are not afraid to ask difficult questions.

  17. YJ says:

    I agree with tedstrutz.Questioning her faith while trying to understand why and how such an event happened.

  18. rich says:

    i think there’s an open quotation mark missing here: But it’s 2013, and now it’s our turn to be accusers,” she added…

    i’m not sure who she is talking to. help me out? thanks.

Leave a Reply

