Totem #Friday Fictioneers

Soon it will be time to hit the treadmill and watch some original star trek while trying to convince my body that I can make it just…one…more…mile.  But not yet!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.

Totem

I checked my watch.  An hour and a half late and we hadn’t even taken off.  Ninety minutes of one sided conversation.  I sighed and closed my eyes, hoping he’d get the hint.
“In fact,” he continued, “certain cultures thought inanimate objects were imbued with spiritual energy.”
The engines changed pitch.  I opened my eyes.
“As if they were alive,” he said.
We started rolling forward.  Soon buildings and runway stripes were flickering by.  The turbines grabbed the air and pulled, the Earth lost its grip on us, and we leaped into the clear blue ocean of air.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Totem #Friday Fictioneers

  1. You boldly went where no one had gone before–or at least this week. 🙂

  2. tedstrutz says:

    Surprise! Lost grip on the sky too.

  3. Dear Danny,

    Your last line threw me and I will confess to confusion. Is the ‘clear blue ocean’ meant to describe the sky? Are they on a submarine? I was and we had a turbine, but the whole runway bit had me on a takeoff roll. I will observe further comments and see.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • glossarch says:

      I meant the sky, but I was definitely worried that people would think it was the literal ocean. Sorry about that! I made things a little bit clearer now (I hope).

  4. If this were a crash, i guess you deserve it at least to keep him shut for a while.

  5. Don’t you hate it when you get sat next to that one person? I do. Just leave me alone and let me read my damn book! Well told, as usual 🙂

  6. rheath40 says:

    I liked this. I swear I felt the plane lift off. There was no crash. Only air.

  7. Joe Owens says:

    I always look forward to chatting with the person beside me. So far I have always had a person that is interesting and not annoying. If it was like you described i suppose it could be totally annoying.

  8. billgncs says:

    Hi Danny — I can pretend to sleep longer than they can talk. You may not make that mile, but you can always take one more step!

  9. “The turbines grabbed the air and pulled”–nice image.

  10. sandraconner says:

    A perfect description of this bored guy just wanting to get to his destination in peace and then finding that peace in the thrill of this machine coming to life and soaring into the heavens. The annoying neighbor gets lost in the grander experience. I love, love, love your image of “leaping into the clear blue ocean.”

  11. The plane became a a creature of flight. Taking off and letting the cares of the world fall away. Too bad about the chatter box. With any luck he’ll doze off or go horse and be forced to let the bird continue it’s journey skyward in silence.

  12. Dear Danny,
    Headphones might be a good hint. My last flight I had the misfortune of sitting by a young mother with an infant and a two year old. She seemed to be under the impression that the child was hard of hearing. I’m certainly not..;)
    Good story this week, sir. I felt your MC’s frustration .
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  13. I took this to mean the guy next to him was going to BORE him with frivilous details during his flight. Nice job.

  14. Oh, some people can’t take a hint. Sometimes you want to chat with someone and sometimes you won’t. I never travel without noise cancellation headphones, that usually does the trick once you reached cruising altitude. 🙂

  15. rich says:

    i’m assuming you were connecting the plane and its movements to the quote about inanimate objects being alive. great comparison. well done.

  16. Abraham says:

    I love that last paragraph.
    And the monologue guy is determined!

Leave a Reply

