Dust and Mud #Friday Fictioneers

What’s more fun: 1) Solving differential equations or 2) Electrolysing water in a kimchi jar?  Become a grad student in geophysics and you can do both!  Bonus: make computers do #1.  Anyway, back to the task at hand.  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.  And be sure to check out my mom’s Friday Fictioneers here!  She’s off to a good start!

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.

Dust and Mud

Boy, sure is dusty.
I hear you.  Good to see clouds up there for a change.  Man gets tired of blue skies after a while.
Yeah, well, I don’t glance up too much.
Never knew your type to watch the weather, come to think of it.
Nope, keep the old eyes on the ground, more or less.  Say, can you flip the spigot?  Can’t reach it from here.
Yep, there you are.  Drop it in the tank, will you?  Ground’s getting all muddy.
In the tank, clank.  Say, you got any more of them carrots?

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Dust and Mud #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Horses never look up unlike dogs, cats and people. So the detail about where the horse works for me. I don’t know if I agree that all horses adhere to a rural west Texas dialect, especially Arabians wearing fancy fly masks.

    • glossarch says:

      Yes, I made up the dialect as I went along. I’m not sure what an upper-class horse would sound like though. Any thoughts?

      I look forward to reading your story this week.

  2. Sandra says:

    Sounds like they’ve developed a good working relationship. Nice one.

  3. So how are they going to flip the spigot without opposable thumbs? Easy dialogue. Cute.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  4. Love it, just simply love it!

  5. elmowrites says:

    Left me wondering if the second voice is a man or another horse. I think a man – either way, good voice.

  6. Danny, that did flow well. But you forgot to mention in your intro, the fun of eating the kimchi to get the jar. There’s an Oriental store in Naperville that, being Korean, has more types of kimchi that I imagined could exist!! And thanks for solving the mystery of your mom. Rochelle and I were speculating whether or not the two of you were related. 🙂

    Have a great weekend,

    janet

  7. denmother says:

    Nice way for person and horse to pass some time in an afternoon.
    Denmother

  8. Joe Owens says:

    Lots of good give and take as the horse and the human have worked out their routine.

  9. “In the tank, clank” –love that sound in your writing.

  10. Sarah Ann says:

    Great dialogue and relationshop between these two.

  11. I never really thought about horses not looking up much; until now.

Leave a Reply

