Out of the Weather #Friday Fictioneers

North Carolina makes the switch from early Spring right into Summer, but I’m not complaining, and neither are my tomatoes.   That and finally posting an epic video from 15 miles in the air has had me occupied (and grad school…), but I can’t miss my weekly ritual!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.

Out of the Weather

Hey man, thanks for coming over and helping me move that thing. It was super heavy so good call with the ramp.  Iron rusts, you know, just withers away to crumbly chips on the ground, so I figured I should put it here instead of leaving it under the mulberry tree.  In other news I decided his gravestone ought to be kinda weather resistant so I told them to carve it out of quartzite.  You’ll be able to read the name and date for a million years, they said.  That’ll be long enough, I said.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Out of the Weather #Friday Fictioneers

  1. I felt a sense of love and respect through this piece. I could only hope to have people who care so much for me in my life. Nice.

  2. Dear Danny,
    A loving tribute to someone who’s dear to the MC. Well written.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  3. Touching little story there..

  4. Anne Orchard says:

    I don’t know who died, but I surely know he mattered. Lovely writing.

  5. Beautifully written, yet completely natural-sounding and so loving. You’re a busy man but I’m glad you always take time for FF. We’re better of for it.

    janet

  6. I think the ‘in other news’ threw me off the story line a tad ..sorry. Other than that it was a heartwarming tender piece.

  7. Nice story. Warm and caring.

  8. petrujviljoen says:

    I liked this very much. Well done.

  9. The ‘respect’ shone through… Well done to you..!

  10. Sarah Ann says:

    The left me wanting to know more about the recently deceased. Well done.

  11. camgal says:

    This was somewhat touching…especially the part about the name and date lasting for many years to come 🙂 good one

  12. Joe Owens says:

    Taking care of the past is a way to maintain our connection to those who are no longer with us. I also enjoyed your balloon video. It reminded me of the credit card commercial.

Leave a Reply

