Deseret #Friday Fictioneers, Genre Post-Apocalypse

Recently learned that my plane has “mechanical problems” so I might not be getting home as soon as I thought.  To put a silver lining on my Detroit airport experience, at least I have time to post my Friday Fictioneers!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.

Deseret

The survivors of the blast had told him about the flash, how lucky they were to make it. They hadn’t, though.  They were the walking dead.  It just took them a few days to lie down, one by one.

He picked up the old wasp nest and crushed it in his fist, then looked up at the golden figure on the topmost spire of the temple.  “I can’t say I believe in you much anymore, Moroni,” he said. “But if you’re really up there, why not give that horn a toot?”
The ground trembled, then lay still.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Deseret #Friday Fictioneers, Genre Post-Apocalypse

  1. Awesome. Especially appropriate considering your recent SLC visit..

  2. Too bad you’re not stuck in Chicago or we could come rescue you until plane time. I had no idea what “Deseret” was, so I had a chance to learn something new from you well-written little story. Thanks! Safe and quick travels home.

    janet

  3. elappleby says:

    I had to do a bit of googling to get the references in this – an interesting take on the prompt. I enjoyed it (and the education I got 🙂 )

  4. Dear Danny,
    A worthy use of travel delay time. 😉 Intriguing, if not grim, story.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  5. I like the image of him crushing the wasp nest. It’s very effective. I, too, had to google “Deseret.” Great job!

  6. 40again says:

    Very well written story, I learned a lot too. Great take on the prompt
    Dee

  7. jenniesisler says:

    Wow, I wouldn’t have thought of the prompt in this way. I think the desperate feeling of loss of faith is something we’ve all been on guard against this week, especially those of us here in Massachusetts. I choose to believe that the ground trembling was Moroni’s horn. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Nice. My kind of story.

  9. Joe Owens says:

    Interesting and a well conceived plot!

Leave a Reply

