The Key to the Past #Friday Fictioneers – Genre Sci Fi

“Science fiction writers once envisioned vast, self sufficient colonies drifting in the void of space.”

He took a deep breath, and looked out past the incongruous sycamore to the vast horsetail forests beyond.

“But we did something that none of them foresaw.  Instead of conquering space, we conquered time.”

He pointed towards the hotel behind him.  “Ladies and gentlemen, fellow time travelers all, I give you the Carboniferous Period.  Breathe deep, but don’t light a cigarette – the oxygen’s a little richer in these climes.   And mind the dragonflies – they’ll take your hat right off your head.”

———-

Yes!  Despite a little format change, this is the same old Friday Fictioneers!  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Key to the Past #Friday Fictioneers – Genre Sci Fi

  1. Jan Brown says:

    Interesting! Very intriguing that they are coming from a time when humans still smoke cigarettes. And I am chucking about the dragonflies…either they have become very large, or the “tourists” are very small 🙂

  2. claudia says:

    Creative use of the prompt…and a gentle take on sci fi at least on this part of the story. I liked your specific words describing the trees!

  3. troy P. says:

    Glad to see hats are still en vogue =)

  4. elappleby says:

    very nice – not sure if it’s deliberate (a bit of time travel maybe?) but your post is repeated twice on the page. It actually fits quite well into the story, makes you think you’re travelling back to the beginning 😀

  5. I agree about the dragonfles… definitely the crown in this story.

  6. I enjoyed this. Original sci-fi. I wonder where the visitors came from.

  7. Good job, Danny. This story flowed well and I liked the opening line and the direction you took the story.

    janet

  8. I like your sci-fi taking on a more human element. Who wants a vast and void future? Give me prehistoric dragon flies any day.

  9. Mystikel says:

    I could happily step right into that scene.I think it really is important to imagine richer, more nurturing futures for the world. This is far more inviting then the bleak desolation we’re usually served with. Nice writing. I enjoyed this piece.

  10. Silly dragonflies!
    I loved this tale of fantasy.

  11. Dear Danny,
    Cleverly written. I enjoyed your guided tour.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

