Light on Water #Friday Fictioneers

She stared straight forward without squinting, and started her work.  The problem was simple, she thought.  Simple enough to be used as an example in a beginning calculus course.
The only hitch – no one had been able to figure out the proof.  Ever.
Hours dragged by.  A ferry went upriver.  Another ferry went downriver.  The waves crossed and recrossed, gathered and broke: the answer came flashing like light on  water.
That night, she wrote a letter to the professor who’d told her that girls couldn’t do math.
“Proof of the Jacobian Conjecture.  Q. E. D.”

———-

After a couple weeks off, I’m back like a vertebrae.  That writer’s bug just won’t stop biting, much like the fleas my cats brought in recently.  Anyway…every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Light on Water #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Lots of time to think on guard duty. 🙂
    For some reason I am reminded of Wittgenstein, working as a hospital porter, a lab assistant and (in one story I heard) a ticket collector on the railways and all the time thinking deep philosophical thoughts.

    • glossarch says:

      Yeah, that was my thought as well. Particularly if one was a genius, one could probably come up with some truly profound things if one had nothing else to do but think.

  2. Sarah Ann says:

    I have no idea of the maths (and looking up the Jac. Con. only confused me) but I enjoyed the image of, ‘The waves crossed and recrossed, gathered and broke..’ and her sitting there watching at them.

  3. Wow, and she can do math in her head. I’m not sure what the Jacobian Conjecture is. I will look it up! Nice one.

  4. Dear Danny,

    Math has never been my strong suit. In fact calculators were invented for such as I. I did have to look up Jacobian Conjecture. So I sort of learned something. Good story.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

  5. The life of the mind. Loved this take, Danny.

    janet

  6. Impressive…myself I was happy counting windows… 🙂

Leave a Reply

