The Dance #Friday Fictioneers

“Where’s the bar at?” the man sitting next to her asked, still clutching a dirty martini behind his hairy knuckles.
“There, by the dance floor,” she replied.
And then it was just me and her, sitting unexpectedly next to each other.
We watched the couples drift from table to table, sampling a compliment here, a juicy morsel of gossip there.
“The Brownian motion of the social animal,” she said, more or less to herself.
I looked up, startled.
“It’s all an algorithm, don’t you see,” she said, and smiled at me. “Care for a dance?”

———-

This week was an exciting week!  I discovered that I am no longer immune to poison ivy, and that my research project will actually lead to a paper.  You gain some, you lose some.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Dance #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Intriguing! I want to follow these two farther, and listen in. Well done.

  2. Liked it! Brownian motion is one of my favorite concepts. So apropos to life.
    Sorry to hear you got poison ivy . I am still immune to poison oak (last time I stepped into some poison oak I was 40+). Maybe poison ivy is different. I’m always careful in the East not to run into p- ivy. Oh well. Your dad & my father were super sensitive to poison ivy and oak. Calomine lotion.
    Glad your paper got accepted!

    • glossarch says:

      Brownian motion is definitely cool. The doctor’s not sure what it was, just some obnoxious plant. My immunity might be done, though. My paper’s nowhere near accepted (it’s not even written yet!) but the research is worth pursuing, and that’s a plus.

  3. Dear Danny,

    A charming visual piece. One note of crit…”me and her”…I think it would be better as “her and I” 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Dear Danny,

    I enjoyed watching the Brownian motion bring them close and the magnetic attraction bring them together. Very well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  5. Joe Owens says:

    Just a dance or a prelude to more?

  6. elmowrites says:

    A geeks’ love affair. These two would be interesting in a long piece. Sorry I’m late, still getting through last week’s stories…

Leave a Reply

