Not Just Yet #Friday Fictioneers

She shed her shoes as she walked on the newborn sand towards the dark line of water.  The first shock of cold faded to numbness as she swam steadily, now far out of sight of land.  The water invited her to stay and linger, perhaps forever, but then something bumped her leg.  She tried to kick it away but it came back, now lifting her head and shoulders above the water as it shoved her towards shore.  Then another dolphin came.  And another.  Push by push, they carried her back through the breakers and flung her back onto the sand.

———-

Chapter 6 in Kate Chopin’s The Awakening is only a paragraph or two long, but her description of the sea (and its seduction) always fascinated me.  That’s what inspired my story today.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Not Just Yet #Friday Fictioneers

  1. I like the newborn sand image because sand is always renewed by the tides.

  2. Ahhhh, saved by dolphins. But the lure of the sea can be quite overpowering sometimes… NIcely done.

  3. Beautiful, I love this. I think dolphins must be a gentle, caring species. They would save the day!

  4. annisik51 says:

    Love this. Virginia Woofish! An attempt at suicide foiled by dolphins? 🙂

  5. liz young says:

    I wonder whether she was pleased or angry to have her suicide attempt foiled?

  6. I hope their rescue serves as inspiration.

  7. Dear Danny,

    I felt the newborn sand between my toes and was buoyed by the dolphins. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  8. plaridel says:

    sometimes, an experience can lead us astray, especially when it makes us feel really good. thanks to the dolphins and the like for leading us back to shore. nice take on the prompt.

  9. DCTdesigns says:

    I love The Awakening. Your story also conjured the Shark Dialogues for me. As well as the fact I used to dream (after watching The Big Blue) of being carried off to the after life by dolphins. But the back to shore would work as well.

Leave a Reply

