Playing for Both Teams #Friday Fictioneers

See that dog in a tree?  Yep, that’s me.  Wondering how I got all the way up here?  Long story, that.  Let’s start with names.  Just call me Fiona.  Got the movie reference? Still stuck?  Okay, fine.   I climbed up here last night.  If it was daylight, well, there’s no way in hell I could have gotten my doggy butt up on this branch.  On the other hand, I could bark all day but once that sun goes down, bark time is over.  My name’s Fiona and I’m dog by day, cat by night!

———-

I’m back on the Friday Fictioneers bandwagon after missing a week!  My lovely wife got me a great Christmas gift this year-she compiled all my Friday Fictioneer stories and all the photos into a book, and made a copy using Shutterfly!  It really made my year (and made me realize how many of these I’ve written)!  Scroll down below this week’s photo prompt to see pictures of the book.  Best wife ever.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

My excellent Christmas present!

The cover!

The cover!

The photo on the right is one I took and sent to Rochelle a few months ago.

The photo on the right is one I took and sent to Rochelle a few months ago.

 

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Playing for Both Teams #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Jan Brown says:

    Amusing story, and I love your wife’s idea for the book!

    Happy new year!

  2. Good story. Creative juices were bubbling.

  3. Dear Danny,

    That is an awesome Christmas present. Since I started with FF, my husband suggested I print off all my stories and keep them in a notebook. .
    As for your story…that really is playing for both teams. That must confuse Fiona’s owners. Clever Schreck reference.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • glossarch says:

      It was a great present, and it was fun to see everything all together. I do believe you when you say the dog climbed the tree on her own…but how on Earth does she do it? And how does she get down?

  4. jwdwrites says:

    Great little story, and I loved the book idea. good luck in 2014

  5. zookyworld says:

    That is a fantastic idea for a gift! I’m a big book lover, so that is a great thought to compile your Friday Fictioneers’ stories onto the printed page. A fun story here, and I have to admit that the Shrek reference didn’t hit me right away. But clever to have the dog transform into a cat and back!

  6. What a great present, Danny! I’ve thought about printing off my stories and the photos but wondered about copyright issues for the pictures. Very cool idea!

    janet

  7. Wonderful present… have been thinking about books a while.. and there are definitely many options… as for the story I love how you took to a story that could be read as a metaphore…

  8. Cute story. Great wife. She’s a keeper!

  9. draliman says:

    Fun story! Is the dog/cat going to have to wait until sunset to get back down safely? 🙂

  10. rgayer55 says:

    Clever story, Danny. I like your book. What a wonderful gift. That will be particularly nice on down the road. I have some stories that I wrote several years ago. When I look back at them now, I can see all the mistakes I made and measure my growth as a writer.

Leave a Reply

