Mountain, Come Down #Friday Fictioneers

“Turn around and leave the key in the ignition.  We might need to leave in a hurry.” I told her.
Her eyes widened.
“You can stay in the car if you want.”
“No, I’m okay,” she said, and we walked up to the door together.
I knocked.  The door opened.  A man peered out.
“Yeah?  What’s up, kid?”
“The evacuation zone’s been extended,” I said.
The man glanced at the mountain at the head of the valley.
“When’s it gonna happen?” he asked.
“Anytime, now.”
He nodded.  “Thanks for letting me know.”

———-

What I study has become my subject for fiction today, since I’m nostril deep in volcanoes and earthquakes!  The semester has begun, and soon I’m sure I’ll be seeing differential equations in my sleep.  Again.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

 

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mountain, Come Down #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Catherine says:

    I can’t imagine anything more horrible that dreaming of differential equations. Well written story. I liked it.

  2. Sun says:

    now that was nice to let him know about the extension. the story fits well with the photo. nicely done.

  3. I hope the man does something quickly. He seems too relaxed. Nice tight piece of prose.

  4. troy P. says:

    I really like the tension from the younger man, when seen in comparison to the blase response of the older – very well done.

    • glossarch says:

      Thank you. The thing about turning the car around and leaving the keys in the ignition was from a book I read about the eruption of Montserrat. When researchers are in the danger zone, that’s what they did as a matter of habit.

  5. MissTiffany says:

    That man seems resigned to his fate. But at least he was warned. Nice story!

    Yikes, seeing differential equations in your sleep? My sister could relate. (she’s a physics major). It sounds like nightmares to me. Of course, I sometimes dream about correcting grammar, and I’m sure she would think that is just as bad.

  6. Nan Falkner says:

    Good story – you are very talented. And – very smart!

  7. Oh many years ago I had nightmares on differntial equations… but even more integrals I think… anyway.. very good dialogue… I think that the information was in vain,

  8. Dear Danny,

    Well written and subtle in its horror. Good job.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. beebeesworld says:

    Good Job, seems this picture inspires the possibility of evil in many! beebeesworld

  10. There are always people who don’t want to evacuate. Sometimes that works out, sometimes it doesn’t. All the best with your new semester. I’m sure you’ll do well.

    janet

  11. So much of real life influences our writing. Mostly, like this, it is in a good way.

  12. atrm61 says:

    Well written:-)Wonder if that man is going to move out or just stall -terrifying thought!

Leave a Reply

