Sunrise Before Midnight #Friday Fictioneers

“Missiles over the Atlantic.  Headed this way.  You gonna do this or not?” I asked myself.
The door was locked but I knew the code.  The commander was on the other side.
“Turn around.  Hands up,” I said.
He looked over his shoulder.  “Six warheads are armed and ready to fly.  Put down your weapon.”
His hand slipped towards the holster on his belt. “Who are you, anyway?
“The janitor.  Night shift,” I said, and shot him.
Way I see it, one life here’s worth a couple million over there.

———-

The photo below reminded me of a nuclear explosion for some reason.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sunrise Before Midnight #Friday Fictioneers

  1. Good story. I guess he snould have given the janitor off.

  2. Nan Falkner says:

    Interesting but hopefully never happens!

  3. I enjoyed the story. I guess being the Commander was reaching for his gun this would be judged justifiable homicide. I’m sure we all hope that never happens. Somehow I’m not surprised the janitor knew the code. It seems codes are often leaked along with a lot of other info these days. Looks like we can’t trust anyone.

  4. Life is full of decisions and weighing outcomes. My question, though, is where are the incoming missiles going? Sounds as though there will be more than one life lost here, so then I have to wonder who the janitor really is.

    janet

  5. There’ll be tears before bedtime, that’s for sure. Somebody forgot to screen the cleaners.

  6. Dear Danny,

    Looks like some espionage going on here. I’m sure he’s not really the janitor.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. DCTdesigns says:

    Good story. I like that the janitor did his own version of clean up. They do tend to go unnoticed in life for all they do. Very clever. After reading this -Matt Damon’s rant in Good Will Hunting about the janitor on the night shift getting bombed because he cracked a code popped in my head. Not this janitor though.

  8. The night-shift janitor as hero, I love it!

  9. Wow, this is really good. Good old janitor, saving the day. Well done!

Leave a Reply

