Fragments of Time #Friday Fictioneers

“Can’t quite reach it-wait-okay, got it,” he said.
He held up the dripping, mossy bottle for her to look at.
“Gross,” she said.
He picked at the cork until it crumbled.  A roll of paper fell out of the bottle.  Something else was wrapped up inside, but he caught it before she could see.
He looked down in surprise.  A ring, glittering in the palm of his hand.
“This bottle’s been at sea for over a hundred years, can you believe it? And, by the way, can I ask you something?”

———-

Spring break…time to get the soldering gun and teh codez out and get some stuff done.  See, spring break for a grad student doesn’t mean vacation – it means more time to do research!  If only it could be spring break all of the time.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

I have a confession to make.  The title of the story is inspired by a Daft Punk song called Fragments of Time:

I do love their new album.

 

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fragments of Time #Friday Fictioneers

  1. DCTdesigns says:

    You made me wonder what the note said. How did the ring get in the water? Secretly I hoped it wasn’t damned. Message in a bottle didn’t exactly have a happy ending. Hopefully his is a better one.

  2. I love writing like this that holds stories within stories. What a serendipitous find!

  3. What a great way to propose (at least that what I’m guessing he was doing)! If not, there are lost of unanswered questions. 🙂

    janet

  4. atrm61 says:

    He sure knows how not to let a golden opportunity pass him by-guess the ring was there in the bottle too?I wonder what the message said and hope that the ring is magical-in a good way 😀 Enjoyed this take on the prompt:-)

  5. Dear Danny,

    I get the feeling that he strategically planted the bottle and the ring. Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  6. Nan Falkner says:

    Enjoy your youth – great story – Thanks! Nan

  7. Good story and nicely done. It’s also a good hook for a longer story. I hope all turns out well for them.

  8. I love these imaginative proposals!

Leave a Reply

