The Space Between

“It’s what I call the sound of the string before it’s plucked, or the sight of perfect darkness before the switch is flicked,” the man said to me.  His son nodded and strummed a few notes as I scribbled in my notebook.
“Kinda like looking for the place you were before you were born, maybe the place you’ll go after you die,” the man added as he picked up his guitar.  “Know what I mean?”
Without waiting for my response the two men looked at each other for a moment, paused, and launched into song.

———-

I’ve passed the test…now I’m a doctoral candidate.  This has some big repercussions: my wife getting her husband back, me not getting kicked out of school…but most importantly, I can rejoin Friday Fictioneers!  Frantically studying seismology is not amenable to flash fiction writing.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Space Between

  1. I just realised I haven’t seen you around for a while! Nice to see you popping up on my radar again, and what a lovely, thoughtful piece.

  2. It’s what I call the sound of the string before it’s plucked, Lovely. This whole piece is nicely done, full of expectation and looking back. (Congrats on becoming a doctoral candidate. LOTS of work!)

  3. That must be a hell of a song. I would have like to be in the audience.

    • glossarch says:

      Same here. My original draft implied that the two were God the Father and Jesus, with the music being the Holy Spirit. In the end the explicit theology got cut but I think there’s still a hint of it left.

  4. elmowrites says:

    Some deep stuff here – one of those stories I’m going to have to mull over a few times to really get inside the mind of. I liked the tone and depth, I less liked not knowing what was going on and who these characters were.
    Great to have you back and congrats on passing the test!

  5. Liz Young says:

    Ah – here you are! I thought I wasn’t going to find your comments section!
    I nice story sparingly told – and well done on the studies.

  6. I’m a big fan of the space between, of the moment before potential is made actual – so really enjoyed this tiny tale – thank you!
    Your bio is fascinating – and congrats on surviving your exams!

  7. Congratulations, Danny! It’s great to have you back but even more so that you now have more time for those you love and the things you love doing. As for your story, I love the feeling of infinity and depth in what these two felt in the music and the way you described something both infinite and unknowable to many. I like it a lot.

    janet

  8. Jan Brown says:

    Congratulations! Does that mean you’ve completed everything but the dissertation? That’s awesome. Also, your story is awesome! I found the concept of “the moment before” or “the space between” to be very intriguing.

  9. elappleby says:

    Lots to think about in this one. A very deep take on the prompt!

  10. Sandra says:

    Some interesting concepts here, well expressed. Congrats on your success! 🙂

  11. CONGRATULATIONS on passing the test! XD These are a couple of deep guys who understand each other perfectly. Well-written story and welcome back. 🙂

  12. Dear Danny,

    Welcome back and congratulations on your success!

    Interesting concepts in your story. Loved the way father and son launched into song at the end. Nice.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  13. So nice to read this.. I like the philosophical aspect a lot in your story.. Congratiolation on passing that crucial step… and now have fun in your venture for the doctorate… (I had a lot of fun with mine)

  14. That is so deep, lots of stuff to ponder about. I like that after dropping all that deep stuff they launched into song 🙂 As if to say, best not to take oneself seriously. 🙂

  15. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Glossarch, I’m impressed you made up an entire language – and congratulations on passing your test, I know your wife will be glad to have you back! Have you written your dissertation yet or published? So awesome! Your story is very interesting, and gave me pause for thought. Thanks for the story! Nan 🙂

Leave a Reply

