Anthropocene

“I dropped the vial in a good place,” the young woman said.  “The subway, right during rush hour.”
“It’s done, then,” the doctor said.  “See all that trash by the seashore?  It’ll fossilize, and that will be all that’s left of us.”
“Not yet,” she said.  “It’s been nice working with you, Doctor, but I’m actually with the FBI.”
“So what was in that vial, then?” he said.  “No virus?”
“Just distilled water.”
“I spread some virus too,” he said as she handcuffed him.  “So when the guards die, I’ll just show myself out.”

———-

Sleepy Thursday night, but even allergy medicine can’t prevent flash fiction (though it may impact the quality!).  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Anthropocene

  1. Dear Danny,

    The scary part of this is that it’s plausible. .Good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. It’s probably happening as we speak. Let’s kill all doctors and intellectuals!

  3. Alice Audrey says:

    More likely he won’t be able to get himself out and will slowly starve as there is no one left to unlock the door or feed him. Just desserts?

  4. Stranger then fiction is the possibility of a reality.

  5. Lucy says:

    Mad scientists, FBI, lethal virus. Sign me up. My favorite stuff. Very good. LUCY

  6. Danny, besides being entertaining and well-written, your stories are thought-provoking. I like that in a story.

    janet

  7. Very interesting story and scary. O_o Hopefully the FBI has been keeping an eye on him for some time and cleaned up his dirty work before it had much effect. I like to be optimistic. 🙂 Well done.

    Susan

  8. Shandra says:

    Excellent story. Love the use of every detail including the title (although I did have to look it up 😉 ). Love a story with a twist.

  9. Well, dang! We thought she’d saved the world – no such luck, eh? Nice twist at the end.

Leave a Reply

