The Devil’s Details

I have the same argument with myself every time I move.
“Throw the old thing away,” says a voice near my left shoulder.
“Naw, keep it,” says the voice next to my other ear.
Turns out the right side always wins, and I hold onto the goat head.
It’s a memento of simpler times, I say to myself. Back when I lived right underneath everyone’s feet and didn’t have to send the IRS an activity report every April.
Hell, if I put on a suit and went outside these days – no one would even look twice.

———-

I return!  It’s been a while but I have not given up – there’s always time for scraps of strange tales to round out the week.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Devil’s Details

  1. empeck says:

    I’m the same way with books, so I enjoyed the start of the story. I have to admit, though, the last line confused me for some reason. It doesn’t seem to fit with the rest of the piece. Otherwise, I really liked it.

  2. I agree with empeck. The last line is a wee bit confusing. : – ) Otherwise I love the two voices talking/battling in his ear.

  3. ahtdoucette says:

    Funny and creepy! I think I get the last line, that the devil could still have a goat’s head and go walking around like a normal person. Disturbing.

  4. Amy Reese says:

    The last line has me thinking he is living in hiding or living a secret life? Maybe he’s in the witness protection program or simply has a new line of work. Anyway, it doesn’t matter that I don’t know. I like the two voices talking and I can see why the ram’s head always wins and stays. Nice writing.

  5. hafong says:

    He was living the devil’s life – not worrying about the IRS? I’m slow at catching on most of the time.

    Lily

  6. tinabasu says:

    that’s a nice way to put it 🙂

    Tina from The Sunny Side of Life

  7. camgal says:

    Simpler times for the win

  8. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Devils Details, I enjoyed the bantering back and forth and glad the right side wins out. I do wonder what he was doing (if he is a he) and living underfoot – I thought about grass or sod(as in Poor Sod, he doesn’t know what to do next.) How do you say “great story, well written – in Angosey? Pretty interesting. Good luck on your doctorate! Nan 🙂

    • glossarch says:

      I should have put in a few more details, but he’s actually the Devil! Thank you, I’m not sure how to translate that yet, though I can provide details on how one says “I repaired the dishwasher yesterday.”

  9. Danny, I’m wondering if he’s the Devil. The title is “The Devil’s Details.” Anyway, this is a good story and well written. If he’s the Devil that would also explain the last line. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

Leave a Reply

