The Promise

They say the sound’s like a freight train but all I could hear was the house cracking apart, sticks and stones whickering by like shrapnel.  I remember seeing my neighbor’s truck whirling up into the air like a skater doing a triple.  Next thing I know I’m underneath a lumber pile and hands are pulling boards off my leg.  I stand up, shaky but okay, and first thing I see is a rainbow off to the east.  I spit dirt out of my mouth, glance at the rainbow again, and wonder if God has a sense of shame.

———-

I’m back!  It’s been a long intermission, it’s true, but the lure of Friday Fictionners is just too much to resist.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Promise

  1. I like this, especially the last line, and the tone of the narrator: ‘first thing I see’, ‘next thing I know’ – we learn something about him or her just from these words.
    Claire

  2. Dear Danny,

    I’m amazed and pleased that you came up with your story from that prompt. It’s exactly the kind of thing I was hoping for with the photo.

    Very well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  3. Dear Danny,

    What I like most about your great story is the question re God and that you got there from the prompt. That sort of imagination warms the cockles of my heart. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    • glossarch says:

      Thank you. The prompt reminded me of a washed-up clump of sea grass, which led me to the promise God made after the flood in Genesis. When I reread the flood narrative, I discovered that God specifically promises not to send another flood, and says nothing about other catastrophes, weather related or otherwise.

  4. Good question, that. Does God have a sense of shame or a sense of humor.

  5. margirene says:

    I love the pace and movement you’ve achieved in this story, and I love your word choices and descriptions – ‘whickering’, ‘like shrapnel’, ‘like a skater’. Fantastic.
    Marg

  6. Sarah Ann says:

    Very vivid descriptions that allow the reader to see what’s happening easily. But I’m not sure about that last question. It doesn’t feel to me that God is exhibiting shame with the display of his rainbow – more humour or fun like Alicia said.

Leave a Reply

