Shuteye

“We coulda jumped him somewhere else,” the man said. “Not right here in broad daylight.”
“Shut up and help me prop his bike up,” his partner said. “Lay him out next to it. Make it look like he’s napping.”
“Yeah, and how long will that fool people?”
“Long enough,” his partner said.
A thump. The man turned around and saw his partner topple to the grass. Then, just before he faded away as well, the man heard:
“Lay them out next to the bike. Make it look like they’re napping.”
A bird chirped. The world kept turning.

———-

I return after a lengthy intermission in my regularly scheduled programming.  This intermission involved becoming a father to a beautiful little girl named Evelyn.  But now (sleep permitting), I’m back in business!  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Shuteye

  1. I love karma! Well done friend.

  2. Margaret says:

    How long can this go on? The whole lawn could end up littered with victims. Clever.

  3. Dear Danny or should I say Daddy?,

    Congratulations. I love the name. If my last son had been a girl he was going to be an Evelyn (spelled Evalyne like my mother 😉 )

    Your story goes full circle in what goes around comes around, Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. yarnspinnerr says:

    Nice job.
    My blessings to the little one. 🙂

  5. Congratulations mate. My son is two, so I know the journey your on. Story wise, an amusing and ironic turnaround.

  6. This sounds like a delightful, never ending “cycle”. Pun intended.

  7. dmmacilroy says:

    And so it goes (with a nod and a tip of my hat to Kurt Vonnegut). This was a great story. Short, sweet and to the point. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

Leave a Reply

