Unthinking it

I saw her gazing at the road sign.
“Not from here?” I asked.
“Nope.  Landed in O’Hare an hour ago,” she said.  “Headed to Cali.”
“So you’re got a layover and figured you’d get your kicks?”
“No,” she said.  “I’m walking Route 66, heartland to coast.”
I just stared at her.
“Gotta unthink it, man, and just do, you know?”
She smiled at me and hiked up her backpack.
I gave her a whatever look and checked my phone.
Seven new emails.
When I looked up again, she was gone.

———-

My daughter sleeps quietly, the dogs do too, and though I should follow their example I write fiction instead.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Unthinking it

  1. Margaret says:

    I like the characters, and her notion of ‘unthinking’. Now I guess he’ll need to learn how to do it. Very nice use of details to show his incomprehension. An engaging story.

  2. Sandra says:

    She sounded like a character you might want to explore a bit further. But the opportunity has been missed – those damn phones have a lot to answer for.

  3. Dear Danny,

    She’s a fascinating character. I agree with Sandra. He should’ve ignored the phone and gotten to know her a little better.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  4. Aching to know what happens to him next. Will he, or won’t he? Well done!

  5. Great person. Time to ditch the screens and talk to people.

  6. Love the contrast, so gently shown, between technology/today’s world and what she’s doing. Perhaps this will get him to rethink and disconnect. Nice done and different.

    janet

    • glossarch says:

      Thank you for reading! I’m glad you picked up on that theme. I feel like I spend way too much time on my cell phone.

      • Danny, it’s a struggle not to. I have to be mindful of staying off it but it’s easy to get in the habit of checking mail, FB, FF, or whatever, all the time. Of course, it’s really no different from being on my laptop, but that’s at home in private. 🙂

  7. Alice Audrey says:

    I wish I could do it. What a kick.

Leave a Reply

