Broken and Loud #FridayFictioneers

The strangest thing is how natural this all comes now, he thought as he considered the red splash of geraniums in the courtyard.  See how I’ve set the table beside me, he said to himself.  It’s as if the place settings are a field of battle: each regiment of forks, spoons, napkins, plates perfectly aligned against the enemy opposite them.  And the clothes. See how well I wear them as I pause before the guests arrive.  Look around you.  See how I’ve written my life in black and white: a broken record, playing broken, and loud.

———-

I’ve joined the Twittersphere as @glossarch!  Follow me, I promise I won’t lead you astray.  As for the story above, it’s based on a poem I coauthored with my friend Jay Reidy.  That last line is based off a brilliant edit he made to my original version.  Maybe I’ll post the poem someday.   Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Broken and Loud #FridayFictioneers

  1. MissTiffany says:

    Beautiful! I would love to read the original poem.

  2. AnnIsikArts says:

    I too saw the dining table as a place of battle. It often is. Nice style and perception 🙂

  3. From your story, I could get a good feel for him and his life. Well done, Danny.

    janet

  4. Amy Reese says:

    Wonderful writing, Danny. I can see how this dinner setting could be a place of battle, and I had not seen it that way before. The line about his life like a record player “broken and loud” – great!

  5. i like the way this piece addresses the reader, bringing her/him closer into the room. Never thought of a dining table as a battlefield, now I will because often they are. As well as a playground if you’re dining with my husband’s family

  6. hafong says:

    The table indeed is like a regiment – everything in their place. Very orderly. It’s interesting to see how people sees things differently from oneself. Thanks.

    Lily

  7. It seems to bring his past into the present. I enjoyed this.

  8. Margaret says:

    Your story makes me think about the rituals and conventions we follow in life – tabe settings, clothing, and what our pursuit of these things actually says about us. Intriguing ideas.

  9. I like the idea of the place settings as part of a field of battle–great words!

Leave a Reply

