The Comeback

Here’s how it happened: I was on the ladder fixing a gutter when the wind gusted and I ended up standing at the edge of an old canal, and this boat glides up all weathergray and brown, riding high, filled with people.
“Going back?” asked the pilot.
“Sure,” I said.
“Step aboard, then.”
I did as he said.  The crowd shifted to make room.  The boat did not rock.
We slid down the canal till we reached the ocean.  I turned to ask where were were going but I realized I was alone.  Then, brightness: a newborn child crying.

———-

My daughter sleeps quietly in her swaddle and I watch her, Godlike, on the baby monitor.  Oh, and by the way: whoever came up with the metaphor “sleeping like a baby” clearly never had children.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Comeback

  1. Dear Danny,

    I had to read this twice to realize I was headed down the birth canal. Nice.

    I agree with you. If you sleep like a baby, it truly means you’ll be up crying every two hours. Welcome to the new nightlife.

    Good story in any case.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  2. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Danny,

    This is probably the best story you’ve ever written. (I have a good memory nowadays, but it’s short, so don’t fault me if I have said this before.)

    We all will take that ride sooner or later and again and again. You captured the moments in amber and silence and golden sunlight. So very well written.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  3. Margaret says:

    A wonderful idea. I love how you portray the moments of transition – ladder to boat, canal to birth.

  4. Sally says:

    I love that idea of rebirth, well written.

  5. What a great way to tell of that moment of magic.. a wonderful story, and sleeping like a baby is probably only those moments when they should be awake.

  6. Sandra says:

    Such a great take on the prompt. Well done.

  7. penshift says:

    Ah, reborn before he even realises what’s happened. Very nice use of metaphor. 🙂

  8. Though provoking take on the prompt. Glad I stopped by.

Leave a Reply

