The Revenant #FridayFictioneers

She lit the candle on the windowsill and bent to slip on her mud-caked shoes.
“What would happen I followed you?” I asked.
She plucked the candle out of its holder and looked back at me.  “Do you know the story about the goose, you know, the one who laid the golden eggs?”
“Yeah, I remember it,” I said.
“Then go on to bed, my love. See you in a few nights.”
She pressed her lips to mine before slipping into the dark.  I glanced at the other candle, sighed, and swept up the dirt she’d tracked in.

———

I return after two years!   I have also recruited my friend Brian, and I look forward to what he comes up with.  Anyway…Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.  The weekly photo that inspired this story is below:

 

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to The Revenant #FridayFictioneers

  1. Warm hearted and spooky. A clever combination.

  2. Sandra says:

    I like a tender ghost story – well done. And welcome back.

  3. Jan Brown says:

    I like this ghost-dog story!

    I, too, seem to be participating monthly rather than weekly. Don’t feel bad; real life takes precedence!

  4. wildbilbo says:

    I loved this take – but I’m a sucker for ghost stories. I liked the positive note this had – historically Ghost Dogs are harbingers of doom!
    Cheers
    KT

  5. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Danny,

    A good yarn for the fireside. Well written and well told.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  6. Dear Danny,

    Real life has a way of interfering, doesn’t it?

    I’ve never read a sweet ghost-dog story. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  7. mjlstories says:

    We lost our dear old cat about a month ago (he’s just sleeping in this little picture here!) and my grown-up son had a dream very similar to your story. A sweet tale!

  8. Anita says:

    I have goosebumps!
    Wonderfully expressed!

  9. Lovely end beat. Well done.

  10. Well written. Bitter sweet, I think. And a learnin’ of life.

  11. Always nice to read a warm, uplifting ghost story. Thanks for that, Danny.

    janet

  12. Margaret says:

    An intriguing and heart-warming story. There’s some interesting history between that mother and dog, I suspect.

  13. karen rawson says:

    Inventive take on the prompt. I love a good ghost story!

  14. Oh.. I guess a dog lacking substance would be hard to feed.

  15. milliethom says:

    I really like the idea of a ghost-dog. He seems to be desperate for company and he’s evidently very friendly. I wonder just how long he’s inhabited those woods – possibly a lot longer tthan the 25 years the mother mentioned. Lovely little story. 🙂

  16. Very different. Very nice.
    Randy

Leave a Reply

