The Crossing #Friday Fictioneers

Why waste a perfectly good hour on the bus reading or watching cat videos on your smartphone when you could be writing? Sure your calligraphy might be horrible – but that’s what retranscription’s for!  Here, I offer my first Route 805 production: this week’s Friday Fictioneers.  Every Friday, writers from all around the world write 100 word (or thereabouts) flash fiction based on a photo posted that Wednesday on Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’ blog.

Here’s my story this week.  I welcome constructive criticism; without it I cannot grow as a writer.

The Crossing

I think of that bakery on the first floor.  Full of bread.  Jeez, I’m so hungry.
I lean under the doorway and consider the stairwell for the thousandth time.

But God, the drop!  I break out into a cold sweat.  Stairs weren’t meant for this reference frame.  And if I lose my grip, I’ll fall screaming all the way to the top, maybe break through into the air like all those poor souls caught outside when it happened.

The world’s been flipped, you see.

I sit back down next to the light fixture.  My stomach rumbles.

About glossarch

The word "glossarch" doesn't exist. At least, not yet. But let's pretend it does for a second. The first part is "gloss," a word that comes to us from Ancient Greek via Latin and English. It means "language." The second part also comes from Ancient Greek and can mean "having power over." So "glossarch" means simply "language controller." So what am I doing making up words? Well, I made up an entire language once. It's called Angosey. So I'm the Glossarch of Angosey. I'm currently a doctorate student in volcano seismology (a branch of geophysics). I enjoy writing fiction and poetry, launching balloons, programming, and hanging out with my lovely wife! Follow me on Twitter! Writing and language creation: @glossarch Balloons and science: @bovineaerospace
This entry was posted in Friday Fictioneers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Crossing #Friday Fictioneers

  1. As usual I was not disappointed. Original and creative.

  2. zennjennc says:

    Oh how clever! What a delightful read.

  3. boomiebol says:

    Very original, well done

  4. Well, that’s a twist! We’ve flipped, and thought the staircase was problematic enough. Very charming and different.
    Lindaura

  5. t says:

    Mind-bendingly good!

  6. I love this, Danny. As a child I used to hang over the edge of my favorite chair and imagine what it would be like to walk on the ceiling-as-floor–hopping over the high door sills, avoiding the lights, etc. Fun to think that someone else had the same thoughts (although I’m sure many more someones have.)

    Enjoy the weekend,

    janet

  7. elappleby says:

    Oh! You turned the world upside down and my head with it! Very creative take on the prompt 🙂

  8. Dear Danny,
    The world’s turned upside down indeed. Imaginative piece. Nice.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  9. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Danny,

    Thank you for giving me something good to comment on. I loved how you deftly turned the world on its head and described it so perfectly.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  10. Marisa says:

    This was great. So imaginative and well written.

  11. Sarah Ann says:

    Really enjoyed your upside down take. Well done.

  12. elmowrites says:

    You seem completely at ease describing this upside down world – totally took me there and gave me an interesting look at it!

Leave a Reply

